Whether it is a lease or a lease agreement, the tenant must pay the rent, abide by the rules agreed with the landlord and take responsibility for the damage caused to the apartment that is more than just „normal wear and tear“. The owner must provide an apartment that is safe, clean and compliant with the Massachusetts Health Code, and must keep all promises in the lease or lease. A lease in Massachusetts may be one of two types: Massachusetts Fair Housing law prohibits discrimination in housing based on race, religion, national origin, age, ancestry, military or service origin, sex, sexual preference, marital status, disability or the need for a guide dog , except in two family apartments. A landlord also cannot refuse to rent you an apartment because you receive a rent subsidy because the apartment contains lead, or, with a few exceptions, because you have children. In general, a landlord cannot take possession of the rental property, physically remove the tenant or his personal property or change the locks without going through a court. Depending on the reason for the eviction, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 14-day or 30-day notice for termination. A lessor must then bring a civil action (summary trial) in court and receive a court judgment setting the date on which the tenant must leave the rented property with his property. If the tenant does not voluntarily withdraw on the date indicated by the court, a lessor must have a sheriff or constaulator executed to make an enforced judgment against the tenant who asks him to leave the house and, if necessary, to transfer any personal property of the tenant to a licensed public warehouse. In this case, the lessor is required to pay moving costs, but is entitled to reimbursement by the tenant. The tenant has the unique opportunity to claim items of personal or sentimental value in the storage facility and can claim all personal belongings of the warehouse after paying the fees charged by the storage facility.